Frank Bogert Memorial Rodeo Scholarship

Frank Bogert Memorial Scholarship - College of the Desert

Rodeo honors former mayor in scholarship

Read the article in the Desert Sun

By Terria Smith - July 11, 2010

 Organizers of the Frank Bogert Memorial Rodeo and the late Palm Springs mayor's family have started a scholarship in his honor.

Christopher Burkhardt, chief executive officer of Spur the Moment LLC, said the idea came with planning this year's inaugural rodeo. The rodeo and festival took place in March 2010.

 “We were looking for substantial ways to make a lasting tribute to his legacy,” Burkhardt said.

Burkhardt and Negie Bogert, Frank Bogert's widow, and Bogert's daughter, Donna Higueras, who is the scholarship committee chair, set up the fund with the College of the Desert Foundation.

Bogert, who served two stints as the city's “cowboy mayor,” died in March 2009 at his home. He was 99.

Michael Barnard, executive director of the College of the Desert Foundation, said honoring someone's memory with a scholarship is a popular concept. Each year the foundation awards close to 100 scholarships and more than $600,000 to students.

The coming 2010-11 school year will be the first time a student will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the Frank Bogert Memorial Scholarship endowment fund.

“A $1,000 scholarship can literally change (a student's) life,” Barnard said.

Burkhardt said the first goal for the fund is to raise $25,000 for a full endowment.

The scholarships will then be awarded to students from the interest generated by the fund.

Higueras said they are thinking of additional fundraising ideas including golf and tennis tournaments and horse rides as future events.

But for now, those who hope to contribute to the fund can do so directly through the College of the Desert Foundation. Also, a portion of the VIP tables for the Frank Bogert Memorial Rodeo in 2011 will go toward the scholarship.

Interested in donating? Contact 800-664-5617 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Or click on the VIP Seating tab at the top of this website.

Thank you to our generous Scholarship Donors, in chronological order:

Stanley Barnes

Stephen T. Beneto

Donna & Jose Higueras

J R Simplot Co.

Christopher & Cathieann Burkhardt

Scott & Karen Caldwell

Paul R. Deats

Elaine Hill

Aurelio Paul Di Amico

Jackie Autry

Lois & Don Abel

Scott Free

Thomas A. Gregory,  II   

Marc Lamkin

Steven Knott

Thomas Basabe

Tony Gregory